The purpose of these tables is to maintain a schedule of scientific talks and discussions relevant to your program.


Before you depart, PLEASE fill out an activity report and report your publications to KITP. The KITP needs feedback from the community: this not only serves help to improve and develop our services; it also provides an evaluation tool that is crucial to our continued funding.

Any manuscript for which the KITP's facilities are used, and any research which is started and/or completed at the KITP should have the following acknowledgment: This research was supported in part by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. NSF PHY11-25915. Please also list the Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics as an institutional affiliation, if at all possible.

Go to current week.⬇

Week 1
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Aug 22
12:15 pm
Aud
Morpho speaker
Blackboard Lunch Seminar


2:00 pm
SSR
All participants
Organizational Meeting

Tuesday, Aug 23
10:30 am
SSR
Barry Holstein
Connecting Compton and Gravitational Compton Scattering

Wednesday, Aug 24
10.30 am
SSR
Evgeni Epelbaum
Tutorial on Nuclear EFTs

Thursday, Aug 25
10:30 am
SSR
Martin Savage
Status of Nuclear Physics from Lattice QCD

Friday, Aug 26
10.30 am
SSR
Berndt Kniehl
Electroweak Vacuum Stability



Week 2
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Aug 29
12:15 pm
Aud
xxxxxx
xxxxxx


2:00 pm
SSR
All participants
Organizational Meeting

Tuesday, Aug 30
10:30 am
SSR
Giuseppina Orlandini
Ab into Approach to Many-body Calculations

Wednesday, Aug 31
10:30 am
SSR
Francesco Pederiva
Monte Carlo Methods in Many-Body Systems

Thursday, Sept 1
10.30 am
SSR
Sergey Syritsyn
Lattice QCD for Nucleon Structure

Friday, Sept 2
10.30 am
SSR
Zohreh Davoudi
Tutorial on Lattice QCD few-body techniques


Week 3
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Tuesday, Sept 6
2:00 pm
SSR
All participants
Organizational Meeting

Wednesday, Sept 7
10:30 am
SSR
Victor Flambaum
Effects of Dark Matter Linear in Interaction Strength

Thursday, Sept 8
10.30 am
SSR
Dean Lee
Nuclear Structure and Reactions Using Lattice
Effective Field Theory

Thursday Sept 8
2.00 pm
SSR
Mike Birse and Evgeni Epelbaum
Nuclear Effective Field Theories - the crux of the matter.

Friday, Sept 9
10.30am
SSR
Evan Berkowitz
Neutrinoless Double Beta Decay from Lattice QCD


Week 4
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Monday, Sept 12
2:00 pm
SSR
All participants
Organizational Meeting

Tuesday, Sept 13
10:30 am
SSR
Vincenzo Cirigliano
Nuclear Physics and the New Standard Model

Wednesday, Sept 14
10.30 am
SSR
Wick Haxton
Nonrelativistic Harmonic Oscillator Effective Theory

Thursday Sept 15
10.30 am
SSR
Andreas Wirzba
Electric Dipole Moments of Hadrons

Friday, Sept 16
10.30 am
SSR
Brian Tiburzi
New features of Baryon Magnetic Moments uncovered with Lattice QCD



Week 5
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Monday, Sept 19
9:00 am
SSR
All participants
Fundamental Symmetries Conference

Tuesday, Sept 20
9.00 am
SSR
All participants
Fundamental Symmetries Conference

Wednesday, Sept 21
9.00 am
SSR
All participants
Fundamental Symmetries Conference

Thursday Sept 22
9.00 am
SSR
All participants
Fundamental Symmetries Conference

Friday, Sept 23
9.00 am
SSR
All participants
Fundamental Symmetries Conference



Week 6
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Monday, Sept 26
2:00 pm
SSR
All participants
Organizational Meeting

Monday, Sept 26
12.15 pm
Auditorium
Joe Carlson
Chalk-Board Lunch Talk
Constructing and Deconstructing Neutron Stars

Tuesday, Sept 27
10.30 am
SSR
Dick Furnstahl
EFTs and DFTs : Looking for Help

Wednesday, Sept 28
10.30 am
SSR
Thoma Papenbrock
From EFTs to Nuclei

Thursday Sept 29
10.30 am
SSR
Brad Filippone
Some Topics on Spin Gymnastics !!

Friday, Sept 30
10.30 am
SSR
Susan Gardner
n-nbar Oscillations



Week 7
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Monday, Oct 3
2:00 pm
SSR
All participants
Organizational Meeting

Tuesday, Oct 4
10.30 am
SSR
Gaute Hagen
Coupled Clusters

Wednesday, Oct 5
10.30 am
SSR
Sinya Aoki
Current Status of Two-Baryon Systems from LQCD

Wednesday, Oct 6
1.45pm
SSR
Bira van Kolck
Nuclear Physics Around the Unitarity Limit

Thursday Oct 7
10.30 am
SSR
Saori Pastore
Electroweak Properties of Light Nuclei




Week 8
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Monday, Oct 10
12.15 pm
Aud
ImmanuelBloch
Chalk Board Talk: Exploring and controlling quantum matter
using ultra cold atoms in optical lattices

Monday, Oct. 10
2:00 pm
SSR
All participants
Organizational Meeting

Tuesday, Oct 11
10.30 am
SSR
Joerg Pretz
Improved Method to Extract Nucleon Helicity Distributions using Event Weighting

Wednesday, Oct 12
10.30 am
SSR
Wolfram Weise
Functional Renormalization Group Studies of Nucleon and Nuclear Matter

Thursday, Oct 13
10.30 am
SSR
Hermann Krebs
Axial Vector Current in Chiral Effective Field Theory

Friday, Oct 14
10.30 am
SSR
Michael Wagman
Neutron-Antineutron Matrix Elements and Renormalization




Week 9
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Monday, Oct. 17
2:00 pm
Aud
All participants
Organizational Meeting

Tuesday, Oct 18
10.30 am
Aud
David Gross
Anthropic Arguments

Wednesday, Oct 19
10.30 am
Aud
Evgeni Epelbaum
Herman Krebs
Dean Lee
Nuclei and the Anthropic Arguments

Thursday, Oct 20
10.30 am
Aud
Martin Savage
Lattice QCD and Anthropic Arguments

Friday, Oct 21
10.30 am
Aud
Martin Hoferichter
muon g-2




Week 10
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Monday, Oct. 24
10.30 am
SSR
Phiala Shanahan
PP-fusion and tritium beta decay from Lattice QCD

Tuesday, Oct 25
10.30 am
SSR
Jared Vanasse
Effective three-body nuclear systems with short-range interactions

Wednesday, Oct 26
10.30 am
SSR
Yoram Alhassid
Auxiliary-Field Monte Carlo methods for nuclei and cold atoms

Thursday, Oct 27
10.30 am
SSR
Tom Donnelly
Charge-changing and neutral current neutrino interactions with nuclei

Thursday, Oct 27
1.45 pm
MSR
Will Detmold
Exotic Glue

Friday, Oct 28
10.30 am
SSR
Gautam Rupak
Low-energy nuclear reactions using EFT



Week 11
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Monday, Oct. 31
10.30 am
SSR
Lars Bildsten and E. Bauer
Thermonuclear supernovae from helium accumulation and detonation on White Dwarfs.

Monday, Oct 31
12.15 pm
AUD
Xie Chen
Symmetry Protected Topological Phases
chalk board talk
Tuesday, Nov 01
10.30 am
SSR
Andre Walker-Loud
Improved Interpolating Operators for Lattice calculation of Two-Nucleon Observables

Tuesday, Nov 01
1.45 am
SSR
M. Caplan
Astromaterial Science

Wednesday, Nov 02
10.30 am
SSR
Witek Nazarewicz
Science of Facility for rare Isotope Beams: Overarching Questions (a theoretical perspective)

Thursday, Nov 03
10.30 am
SSR
Joerg Pretz
Electric Dipole Measurements at Storage Rings

Thursday, Nov 03
1.45 pm
MSR
Enrico Rinaldi
Dark Interactions and the Lattice

Friday, Nov 4
10.30
SSR
Pieter Maris
Recent Results for p-shell Nuclei using EFT NN+3N Interactions





*Aud=Auditorium, SSR=Small Seminar Room, MSR=Main Seminar Room FR=Founders' Room








⬆TOP